18th December 2016

Your Excellency,


We the Ambassadors of The Gambia representing our Nation overseas, extend our thanks and appreciation to Your Excellency, The Government and People of The Gambia for the smooth and peaceful conclusion of the December 1st Presidential Elections which you described as transparent, free and fair. Both local and international election observers also certified the whole process as credible. Yourstatesmanly and televised acceptance of the election results in favour of the Coalition candidate on December 2nd, was acclaimed and applauded throughout the world. The fact that you further congratulated Mr. Barrow on his victory and assured him of your support and guidance was testimony to the fact that you care for the progressive development of The Gambia in a peaceful and orderly transition. Many of us have received commendations on your behalf in our various jurisdictions from individuals and institutions citing your action as the dawn of a new era in African politics and democracy.

Your Excellency, we were taken aback by your pronouncement on National Television on December 9th, rejecting the results. This new position of Your Excellency has the potential of undermining the peace and stability that The Gambia is renowned for.

Your Excellency, in the light of the foregoing, we the Ambassadors of The Gambia, strongly appeal for you to accept the choice of The Gambian people and facilitate a peaceful transfer of power to the President-Elect, Mr. Adama Barrow.

Meanwhile we applaud the efforts of the international community especially the UN, AU and ECOWAS mission headed by Her Excellency Mrs. Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf in their quest to bring about a peaceful resolution of the current political impasse in our motherland, The Gambia.

In conclusion Your Excellency, we once again implore you to consider our plea which is aimed at achieving the greater good for our beloved country, The Gambia.

Please accept Your Excellency, the assurances of our highest consideration and esteem.

  1. E Mr. Dembo M. Badgie – Beijing
  2. E Mr. MomodouBadgie – Ankara
  3. E Mrs. Elizabeth Ya Eli Harding – London
  4. E Dr. Mamadou Tangara    – New York
  5. E Momodou Aki Bayo – Moscow
  6. E Mrs. TenengMbaJaiteh – Brussels
  7. E Mr. Momodou Pa Njie         – Dakar
  8. E Mr. Lang Yabou – Madrid
  9. E Mr. Masanneh N. Kinteh – Havana
  10. H.E. Mr. AbdouJarju – Bissau
  11. H.E. Mr. Mass AxiGai – Addis Ababa
Join The Conversation