Gambia decides on travel to and from COVID-19 hotspot countries


OP/291/249/01/PART IV (373-ABS)          

News Release

 Gambia decides on travel to and from COVID-19 hotspot countries

State House, Banjul, 20th March 2020 – President Adama Barrow has been updated on the outcome of the Ministerial Committee Meeting on the travel arrangements to and from hotspot countries.   It is in this light that the Office of the President informs the general public, all embassies and airlines that COVID-19 hotspot countries wishing to evacuate their citizens may do so within 48 hours and this will be subject to review as the situation demands.

Furthermore, all Gambians abroad wishing to return to The Gambia from the hotspot countries are hereby informed that they will undergo mandatory quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in approved facilities.

Also, the public is hereby informed that Non-Gambians from hotspot countries will not be allowed entry except in exceptional circumstances.  Once again, the public is urged to cooperate with Health Workers and all relevant authorities in the national efforts to prevent, contain and manage COVID-19.

The public is informed that the following countries listed below are identified as hotspot countries:

Asian and Pacific Region

  1. China
  2. Republic of Korea
  3. Japan
  4. Malaysia
  5. Australia
  6. Singapore
  7. Philippines
  8. Indonesia
  9. Thailand
  10. India

European Region

  1. Italy
  2. Spain
  3. France
  4. Germany
  5. Switzerland
  6. The United Kingdom
  7. Netherlands
  8. Norway
  9. Austria
  10. Belgium
  11. Sweden
  12. Denmark
  13. Czechia
  14. Greece
  15. Portugal
  16. Israel
  17. Finland
  18. Slovenia
  19. Ireland
  20. Estonia
  21. Iceland
  22. Romania
  23. Poland
  24. San Marino
  25. Luxembourg
  26. Turkey
  27. Russian Federation
  28. Slovakia

Eastern Mediterranean Region

  1. Islamic Republic of Iran
  2. Qatar
  3. Bahrain
  4. Pakistan
  5. Egypt
  6. Saudi Arabia
  7. Kuwait
  8. Iraq
  9. Lebanon
  10. United Arab Emirates


  1. United States of America
  2. Canada
  3. Brazil
  4. Chile
  5. Ecuador
  6. Peru

African region

  1. South Africa

Join The Conversation